Senate Education Panel Delays Vote on UH Regents

The Hawaii Senate Education Committee on Friday deferred for 10 days a vote on Gov. Neil Abercrombie's nominees to the University of Hawaii Board of Regents.

Committee Chairwoman Jill Tokuda said the committee members felt they needed more time to vet the five nominees:

  • Patrick Naughton
  • Saedene Ota
  • Coralie Matayoshi
  • Jan Sullivan
  • Sandra Scarr

Tokuda did not cite specific concerns with any of the individual nominees, but said the confirmation hearings got contentious at times.

"We went a little bit more in depth with some of the nominees about their positions and perspectives on various issues," Tokuda said. "Given their autonomy, these positions are really critical. It's such an important board that I think it deserves us really taking a good look at the nominees and making sure that we're doing our best by the board in appointing these individuals."

Have feedback? Suggestions?