Hawaii has two congressional districts, the 1st and the 2nd.

1st Congressional District Rep. Colleen Hanabusa, a former Hawaii state Senate president, won her congressional seat in November 2010. Hanabusa, a Democrat, defeated incumbent Charles Djou, a Republican, 50-44 percent. Hanabusa and Djou faced off again in 2012, and she was easily re-elected, 54 percent to 44 percent. Hanabusa is vacating the seat to run for U.S. Senate in 2014. She faces incumbent U.S. Sen. Brian Schatz in the Aug. 9 primary.

2nd Congressional District Rep. Tulsi Gabbard won in a landslide in the Nov. 6, 2012 general election. After upsetting veteran politician and former Honolulu mayor Mufi Hannemann in the primary, Gabbard was tagged by national Democrats as a rising star.

The 2nd district was formerly represented by Mazie Hirono, who held the post since Jan. 3, 2007. Hirono vacated the seat to run for retiring Sen. Daniel Akaka‘s seat.


The 1st Congressional District is essentially urban Honolulu, but it stretches from Hawaii Kai in East Honolulu to Waipahu in west Oahu and Mililani in central Oahu. The district includes Pearl City, Waimalu, Aiea, and the downtown area where Hawaii’s government offices and many of its top businesses are concentrated. There