City and County of Honolulu Government

Honolulu has been the seat of government in Hawaii since 1850, when King Kamehameha III proclaimed it the capital of his kingdom. Honolulu remained the center of island politics even after the Hawaiian Kingdom was overthrown and Hawaii was annexed by the U.S. in 1898. Hawaii became a U.S. territory in 1900. It would be another five years before the Territorial Legislature created five counties in a law that became the basis for Hawaii's modern municipal governments. Four counties, including the County of Oahu, were governed by elected Boards of Supervisors, with the state retaining control of most county functions.

Have feedback? Suggestions?

Related Content