Clayton Hee

Clayton Hee is a Hawaii Democratic state senator representing District 23, which encompasses Kahuku, Laie, Kaaawa, and Kaneohe. He has served in the Hawaii State Senate since 1984 and won re-election for an eighth term in the 2012 general election. He received 51 percent of the vote against Republican Colleen Meyer, who received 44 percent.

Hee chairs the Judiciary and Labor Committee as well as sits on the Hawaiian Affairs Committee, and is perhaps best known for his assertive and frequently contentious manner of confronting issues. Last year, a Civil Beat profile of the senator observed that with one possible exception, “there is no legislator more feared than Hee.”

Have feedback? Suggestions?

Related Content