Latest Articles

  • Hawaii Candidates for Congress Seek More Money as Election Nears

    · By Nathan Eagle

    Republican Charles Djou and Democrat Mark Takai are making last-minute pitches for more money as their tight congressional race enters its final 35 days.

    They have until Oct. 15 to submit their quarterly campaign finance reports to the Federal Elections Commission, but Tuesday marked the end of the fundraising period.

    Both candidates vying to represent urban Oahu in Congress for the next two years want to make a big showing when the reports become public next month. Not only is it important in order to keep TV ads on air and mailers

  • Takai Says He Wants to ‘Knock Some Sense’ into Congress

    · By Nathan Eagle

    Editor’s Note: Civil Beat plans to sit down with Mark Takai’s opponent, Republican Charles Djou, in early October, which was his earliest opportunity.

    Mark Takai is tired.

    He woke up at 3:30 a.m. Thursday to start calling people on the East Coast about his bid for Congress, reaching out to labor organizations for support and thanking others who helped him win the Aug. 9 primary over six other Democrats.

    Takai has worked the equivalent of a full day before arriving at Civil Beat’s office for an hourlong Editorial Board meeting later

  • Chad Blair: Republicans on Parade

    · By Chad Blair

    I’ve seen this parade before.

    Dozens of hopeful candidates from diverse walks of life, hopeful, excited, sporting banners and signs and buttons and T-shirts and stickers and websites, all believing this will be the election year that Hawaii elects more than a token representation of Republicans.

    I saw this parade just two years ago, when Linda Lingle and Charles Djou went down to defeat in runs for the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.

    I saw it as well in 2010, when Djou lost his re-election bid for the 1st Congressional District, Cam

  • Djou vs. Takai: An Early Look at the 1st Congressional District Race

    · By Nathan Eagle

    Mark Takai and Charles Djou have much in common. They’re middle-aged family men who grew up in Hawaii, serve in the military and have years of experience in elected office.

    But there are fundamental differences between the two candidates that will help urban Oahu voters decide Nov. 4 who they want to represent them in Congress for the next two years.

    The race to replace U.S. Rep. Colleen Hanabusa, who left her post for an unsuccessful Senate run, is shaping up to be competitive. Djou is anxious to return

  • Hawaii Congressional Districts: Takai Triumphs

    · By Nathan Eagle

    Voters have given state Rep. Mark Takai the nod over Senate President Donna Mercado Kim and five other candidates vying for the Democratic slot in the 1st Congressional District race.

    With most precincts reporting by early Sunday morning, Takai was the winner with 43 percent of the vote, 52,719 people casting their ballots for him. Kim had 27 percent, followed by Honolulu City Council members Stanley Chang at 10 percent, Ikaika Anderson at 6 percent and Joey Manahan at 4 percent. State Sen. Will Espero had 4 percent and human rights advocate Kathryn Xian had 3 percent.


  • Republican Djou Leads CD1 Money Race as Democrats Slug It Out

    · By Nathan Eagle

    Republican Charles Djou now has more campaign cash on hand than any other candidate running in the 1st Congressional District race, according to pre-primary reports filed Monday with the Federal Elections Commission.

    The reports, which cover July 1 through July 20, show Djou has a $64,000 edge over Senate President Donna Mercado Kim, a frontrunner among the seven Democrats vying for the seat. He has $439,707 in his campaign war chest.

    One other Republican is running, Allan Levene, but Djou is expected to win by a large margin in

  • Ad Watch: Chang Touts Progressive Positions in First TV Spot

    · By Nathan Eagle

    Honolulu City Council member tries to separate himself in a crowded race for Congress.

  • Money Floods Campaign Coffers in CD1 Race

    · By Nathan Eagle

    Donna Mercado Kim, Mark Takai and Stanley Chang take in lion’s share, spending thousands on communications, consulting.

  • Ad Watch: Union Recruits Honolulu City Council Members to Fight Kaiser

    · By Nathan Eagle

    Stanley Chang and Joey Manahan, both of whom are running for Congress, are featured in ads by Unite Here Local 5.

  • Senate President Leaps to Pole Position in Hawaii’s Congressional Money Race

    · By Nathan Eagle

    Donna Mercado Kim seizes funding momentum in the 1st Congressional District Democratic primary.

  • Who Is Winning the CD1 Campaign Money Chase?

    · By Chad Blair

    UPDATED Councilmen Stanley Chang and Ikaika Anderson set the pace in race to replace Hawaii Rep. Hanabusa.

  • ‘Wild West Shootout’ for Hawaii’s 1st Congressional District Seat

    · By Chad Blair

    Five candidates already off and running, with talk that two Kims and a Hannemann may be in the wings.